Contact Us Today For Help!

free consultations

New Arizona Distracted Driving Law

Distracted driving can occur at any moment. Within a minute, anyone can be hit by a distracted driver on their phone. Lives can instantly be changed by one person on the road. Car accidents due to distracted driving can result in severe injuries, including death. In 2019 alone, Arizona had over 10,000 distracted driving accidents. To avoid the consequences of an accident, Arizona officially implemented a law on January 1, 2021, to ban the use of a cell phone or other electronic device while driving. Unless the device is being used in hands-free mode, drivers can now be pulled over and fined by law enforcement officers.

Arizona Texting and Driving Laws

The state of Arizona proposed the legislation after a law enforcement officer was struck and killed by a distracted driver who was texting. With rising cases of accidents due to distracted driving, action had to occur. While most states in the United States have already implemented texting and driving laws, Arizona has not until recently.

If a driver is caught by a law enforcement officer using an electronic device while driving, they can be fined up to $149 for the first time they get pulled over and up to $250 for recurring incidents. However, if an accident is a result of distracted driving, the consequences can be even more severe. If the death or injury occurs, distracted drivers can face a misdemeanor and a six-month jail time. Furthermore, drivers can also have their license temporarily suspended and pay restitution up to $100,000.

Hands-Free Systems

While holding a smartphone or other electronic device in your hand while driving is now illegal, using a hand-free system is not. Hands-free tools can include a Bluetooth system. If your car comes with a Bluetooth system, take advantage of the tool while making calls. Using one earphone or a Bluetooth ear device is also acceptable. Even deciding to put your phone on speaker and not touching it is possible. The use of GPS navigation is also acceptable. The Arizona Department of Public Safety clearly states that drivers will be allowed to answer and end calls, engage and disengage a GPS device, use a wireless communication system or device to talk on the phone, use a vehicle navigation device, and report a crime or call for help. Do not risk your life and others by having your phone in your hand for one second. One moment can be life and death.

After a Distracted Driving Accident

If you recently experienced a car accident tragedy due to a distracted driver, Grayson Law is here for you. With years of experience, Jeffery L. Grayson with Grayson Law is here to help. Grayson offers services unlike any other law firm across the Pheonix metro area. With a multitude of injuries occurring in Arizona as a result of distracted driving, residents need someone to represent them through the complicated legal system. When an accident occurs, Grayson knows how to personally assist and represent all individuals. For more information, contact Grayson Law at 480-535-9650.

Recent Posts




Get In Touch

Tell us about Your legal Issue

I proudly serve clients in the East Valley and the entire Phoenix metro area.

free consultations


Let’s Get